Q&A with recent Falmouth Fine Art Graduate Joanna Hulin

Megan Fatharly, current BA(Hons) Drawing student at Falmouth ,caught up with Fine Art Graduate Joanna Hulin:

Joanna Hulin is a 2015 BA(Hons) Fine Art Graduate of Falmouth University. Her work shows high levels of technical skill with dramatic use of colour and texture to create an emotive response from the viewer. We caught up with her to see what she has been working on since graduating.

You studied Fine Art at Falmouth, what have you been up to since leaving university?

I would say having a break, but that plan went out the window as soon as I got home. I’ve recently converted my bedroom into a studio, so it’s given me a lot of opportunity to keep working and submitting for exhibitions, and keeps me in the right frame of mind.

I was also recently shortlisted for the first round of the National Open Art Competition and the Artiq Graduate Prize, which have been really big confidence boosters, and I have a few upcoming exhibitions which will include some of my pieces, so that’s very exciting too.

What inspired you about Falmouth when you were studying?

It goes without saying that the scenery was a big part of it – I even mentioned that in my interview, but I’m not sure whether I was supposed to! I live in a very urban area so it was great to be so close to the sea. As for the university itself, probably the atmosphere, everyone I met had some sort of connection to the arts, and I was completely surrounded by varied types of creativity, which made for some really interesting (and sometimes very heated) discussion.

What projects are you currently working on?

At the moment I’m planning to do a series of works based around the objects and clothing found on unidentified bodies, and observe how these very ordinary possessions can give an insight into our identity – interesting to research, but perhaps not something to discuss round the table at tea time.

What was one of the best opportunities that studying at Falmouth gave you?

There are quite a few things, but mostly I would say the confidence to be able show my work to other people. I met a lot of really supportive and fantastically talented people through studying at Falmouth. I’m very grateful for that opportunity, and I don’t believe I would be where I am without them.

Describe your experience of Falmouth in 3 words:

Extraordinarily confident seagulls.

Joanna 1        Joanna 2

Joanna 3        Joanna 4

Leave a Reply

