Zoe Pearce and Falmouth School of Art receive awards from the British Art Medal Society

Medal Front side

© Zoe Pearce, front of medal

One of our BA(Hons) Fine Art students, Zoe Pearce, recently received the Tin Plate Company prize from the British Art Medal Society for her medal design It is July on the Moorlands: Took the wrong path when descending a 520-metre high sandstone hill.

Zoe describes her work below:

“Since entering the 2015 BAMS Student Medal competition, I really enjoyed learning the medal making progress, as well as the concept behind the medal. I have therefore continued medal making, incorporating it alongside my painting practice as well as going on to enter the 2016 BAMS Student Medal competition.

My artistic practice explores the relationship we have to the natural world, creating artworks that encourage viewers to reflect upon their understanding and observation of the physical world that surrounds us; but it isn’t without experiencing elements of the natural world for myself that I am able to understand our reality within it. Through walking within the landscape I am exposing myself to the elements of weather, light, change in temperature, and sense of space, that are all qualities of nature that have begun to inform the creation of my art medal.

In my work so far, it has been the vast and desolate British Moorland that has provided me with much of my inspiration, revealing that through my experience of walking through such open ground it is hard not to feel small and alone when surrounded by what seems such infinite space. The medal presents a place where I have walked within the landscape on one side, and the reverse featuring a figure, which is a representation of myself, which if placed on the side of the landscape would be positioned looking out into the distance. Although the subtle bronze landscape might not appear obvious to anyone where this place is, I still have no intention on giving away the exact location, instead, I have used the title in which to hint but not tell, supplying the viewer with a poetic fact of the landscape combined with an aspect of my experience there.”

Medal Reverse side

© Zoe Pearce, reverse of medal

It has also been announced that the 2016 BAMS President Medal will be awarded to Falmouth School of Art.  The BAMS President Medal is awarded annually to individuals and organisations who have made significant contributions to the understanding, appreciation and encouragement of the art of the medal.

One thought on “Zoe Pearce and Falmouth School of Art receive awards from the British Art Medal Society

  1. It is wonderful to see that Falmouth is continuing to do so well in this prestigious competition and that so many students from Falmouth University use this project as a springboard for the artistic careers. Well done to all staff and students who have worked so hard and tirelessly to make this happen.

Leave a Reply

